



Vol. 22 ■ No. 12 ■ December 2024

MANAGER'S MESSAGE: REFLECTING ON 2024



As December unfolds and we approach the end of the year, it's a fitting time to pause and reflect on the past months. This year has been one of growth, challenges and achievements, and we are deeply grateful for your continued support and partnership.

In a year filled with both triumphs and trials, your unwavering trust and engagement have been the cornerstone of our success. Because

of you, our dedicated members, we can continue to provide reliable service and work toward a brighter future. Your involvement in our cooperative, whether through feedback, participation in events or simply being a valued member, makes a significant difference in our journey.

We also want to extend our gratitude to our dedicated team members who work tirelessly behind the scenes. Their

commitment and hard work ensure we meet our goals and address your needs with the utmost care and professionalism.

Looking ahead to the new year, we remain committed to serving you with dedication and enthusiasm. May this season bring you joy, peace and time to enjoy with loved ones. Thank you for being an essential part of our cooperative family. Your trust and support mean more to us than words can express.

We wish you a wonderful holiday season and a bright start to the new year.

Jason Bentz, Co-General Manager/ CEO

OPPURTUNITIES FOR STUDENTS NOW AVAILABLE!

High school scholarships

Mor-Gran-Sou Electric is offering various scholarships to the 2025 graduating seniors. The deadline for applications is Feb. 14, 2025.

NRECA Youth Tour

Applications for the NRECA Youth Tour are now open to high school sophomores and juniors. The application deadline is Jan. 17, 2025.

APPLY NOW!

FOR MORE INFORMATION AND TO APPLY VISIT, MORGRANSOU.COM.



Underground Line Locates
Toll-free: 1-800-795-0555 or 811

Officers and Directors

Chair..... Steve Tomac Vice Chair..... Chad Harrison Secretary-Treasurer..... Pam Geiger

Directors:

Mark Doll, Rodney Froelich, Bob J. Leingang, Ryan Petrick, Kathy Tokach, Casey Wells



Co-General Managers/CEOs:

Travis Kupper Jason Bentz

. Touchstone Energy® Cooperative ស







HELP SHAPE THE CO-OP'S FUTURE: ANNUAL MEETING DEADLINES

Are you looking for a way to serve the people of central southwestern North Dakota? Look no further, as Mor-Gran-Sou Electric Cooperative can help you fulfill that desire. Why not serve as a director for the cooperative?

Director elections

The initial commitment is a three-year term, with provisions in the bylaws limiting a director to serving six consecutive three-year terms, after which time the director is not eligible for another six consecutive three-year terms until one year has elapsed.

At the annual meeting on June 12, 2025, the following three board positions will be elected:

- Grant County Ryan Petrick (currently serving his first three-year term)
- Mandan Area Pam Geiger (currently serving her second three-year term)
- Morton County Mark Doll (currently serving his first three-year term)

Under the bylaws and due to a mail-in ballot, no nominations are accepted from the floor at the annual meeting. Instead, the bylaws require the board of directors to appoint a Nominating Committee of five to nine members who geographically represent the cooperative. These members will provide a list of qualified and willing candidates to the board for approval and inclusion on the ballot at the board of directors meeting scheduled for Feb. 26, 2025. This date has been set so there is adequate time for each candidate's biographical information to be included with the meeting notice sent to the members in May, along with the mail-in ballot for those who are unable to attend the annual meeting in-person.

NOMINATION COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Jennifer Bonogofsky, St. Anthony
Jackie Buckley, Mandan
Rosie Erhardt, Mandan
Garek Murphy, Fort Yates
Jim Neubauer, Mandan
Toby Olin, New Salem
Donald D. Roth, New Leipzig
Jeff Striegel, Carson
Kathy Tokach (board liaison), Mandan
Katie Wirt, Selfridge

Director nominations

The Nominating Committee will meet for the first time at 6:30 p.m. CT on Dec. 10, and another meeting has been scheduled for 6:30 p.m. CT Feb. 20, 2025.

For a member to be nominated, the member running for a board seat must submit the completed declaration of candidacy form to Mor-Gran-Sou Electric by 4 p.m. CT Feb. 13, 2025. All qualified and willing candidates who have completed the forms required by the deadline will be included in the list the Nominating Committee will provide to the board.

Bylaws and resolutions

Under the bylaws, any bylaw amendments or resolutions must be presented to the members in writing in advance of the annual meeting scheduled for June 12, 2025. The board of directors has charged the Nominating Committee with reviewing and advising the board of any proposed bylaw amendments and resolutions. Therefore, any proposed bylaw amendments and resolutions should be submitted in writing no later than Feb.13, 2025, and/or they can be presented in-person at one of the Nominating Committee meetings.

MOR-GRAN-SOU ELECTRIC ANNUAL MEETING DEADLINES

Dec. 10 – 6:30 p.m. CT, Initial Nominating Committee meeting, Flasher

Feb. 13, 2025 – 4 p.m. CT, Deadline for declaration of candidacy, bylaw amendment and resolutions. Forms must be submitted to the Flasher or Mandan office.

Feb. 20, 2025 –6:30 p.m. CT, Final Nominating Committee meeting, Flasher

June 12, 2025 – Mor-Gran-Sou Electric annual meeting, Mandan

Contact info

For board nominations, bylaw amendments or resolutions, contact a member of the Nominating Committee or Julie Armijo at Mor-Gran-Sou Electric. Completed board declaration forms, bylaws and resolutions can be mailed to: Mor-Gran-Sou Electric Cooperative, P.O. Box 297, Flasher, ND, 58535-0297 or P.O. Box 1090, Mandan, ND, 58554-7090. Forms can also be emailed to Julie at jarmijo@morgransou.com. For additional information or questions, call Julie at 800-750-8212, 701-663-0297 or 701-597-3301.



NEED A BRIGHT IDEA FOR A HOLIDAY GIFT THIS YEAR?

We have energy gift certificates available!

Call the office at 800-750-8212, 701-663-0297 or 701-597-3301.